Monday, January 31, 2005

Snotty Monday...

So I stayed home sick today. Decided I needed one more day to take it easy, and try to get over this dumb cold. Think it worked. Slept 'til one (that would be p.m.), which seemed to help. Still coughing some, still have a fever, but I feel better. Tomorrow I'll be at work, since I don't get paid for sick days. Can't afford more than one day off.

Life is settling in at the house, 'though it still takes an act of God to get either roommate to park in the darn garage. We do finally have the garage door openers, so I'm hopeful at some point, that too shall improve.

I've also introduced Matt and Rachel to the joys of Firefly. :) Had to, you know. They're as hooked as I am.

Life continues. We got 12" of snow last night, but a bunch of it melted today. Certainly not all, but enough to make the roads more passable.

Tomorrow's another day at work, but another day closer to the weekend.

Saturday, January 29, 2005

Smoky Mountain High...

So Matt and Rachel got aluminum tape last night so we could close off the areas on the stovepipe that smoke. No problem. Lit a fire. Realized it was smoking big, so we taped off more. Thought everything fine, went upstairs. Suddenly realized it was really smoky. Went back downstairs, to discover it was completely full of smoke. So began the 2 hour odyssey to get the fire out enough that it would stop smoking. So much for plans to go to bed at a reasonable time!

Did take NyQuil last night, and shock of all shocks!, I slept! Usually, I can only take NyQuil every other night. Otherwise, I sleep great the first night, and don't sleep at all the second. So I'm feeling better today, after sleeping 'til 11:40 or so.

Will be heading off soon for breakfast with my grandparents, aunt and uncle. Bill's in, visiting from Idaho.

Just thought I'd send a quick update.

Thursday, January 27, 2005

Sorry, Sorry, Sorry

Okay, if I say it three times, I must mean it, right?

Haven't posted in awhile. See, there was moving day for me. A week later, moving day for the roomies. Last weekend, the rodeo. And for some reason, after spending all day in front of the computer, typing, I don't want to do that so much when I get home. Add to that roommates who spent last week wanting to "bond" (okay, so really they were just super chatty), and I just didn't get around to posting. This week, I got sick. Oh yeah. Happy cold. Went home early on Tuesday, and was just plain miserable yesterday. Today, still not happy, but I'm moving toward functional.

So. Job's going well, still enjoy it. Will enjoy it more when I'm full-time, and not temp. House is settling in okay. Haven't killed anyone yet. Tora-chan loves having a whole house again, and has settled in pretty well with the other two cats. Things are going pretty well.

Hopefully the next update won't take so long.

Tuesday, January 11, 2005

Foggy on the Outside, Crampy on the Inside...

Okay, so that's probably a great deal more than you wanted to know. Anyway, got up this morning, back was feeling better. Other things felt much worse. Definitely a heating pad day. The drive down the canyon was sunny and pretty; I really like that drive. However, as soon as I hit C-470 at the bottom of the mountains, instant pea soup fog. Rather impressive, really. Colorado doesn't usually get that sort of thing. Drive to work was rather dim; the fog made it feel like I was drifting along, out of time. The clock on the dash reminded me, however, that I had places to go, and phones to answer.

Fog actually lasted through the morning. Finally cleared about noon-ish. At one point, we couldn't see the main road from our fourth floor windows (road's about a block away).

It was a pretty good day. Learned some new stuff; guess I'm still new enough at the job that it happens most days. Drove to Annette's after work, because my mail forwarding finally kicked in. Trust the postal service. I put that in the week I moved to Annette and Steve's. I move out, three weeks later, and they start forwarding my mail there. Ah well. Got a card from Will and Saraq, thanking me for coming to wedding. Nice to know they're still alive; when I lost internet, neither had posted to their blogs since moving to the South.

Just so you know, I can't actually send any email at the moment. Matt and Rachel are coming by tomorrow, so I'll get one of them to fix it then. Didn't want anyone to think I was ignoring them. Honest!

Monday, January 10, 2005

Oh Yeah, It's Monday!

Howdy.

I would like to take this moment post the first blog from the new house. I am officially in (trust me, the pain tells me so!). Last night, I spent the first night in the new house, and more importantly, the first night in my own bed in almost a month. Books are all put away; before I get razzed about that too much, my grandparents really wanted to help unpack, but neither are up to hauling around furniture, etc. So, they unpacked the books. Looks darn good, if I do say so myself. Haven't put any decorations up, but that'll happen. Tonight is a non-unpacking night. I managed to royally piss of my herniated disc, and therefore, my lower back and hip on my right side.

I do thank all of you for being patient with my lack of blogging in the last month. It hasn't been horrid, but it certainly hasn't been terribly comfortable.

Tora-chan is ecstatic to have the run of the house. She was going stircrazy at Annette and Steve's, being locked in my room. So now she comes to visit, then leaves again to explore. It's good for her. :)

I once again encourage everyone to visit. We'll have a futon, and Matt has tentative plans to build a loft, so there's more places for folks to sleep. I still have the air mattress, and we'll find places for everyone. Promise.

Well, I'm running out of things to say, so I'll see you later!

Thursday, January 06, 2005

Long time, no update!

Okay, so it's been awhile. Between learning a new job, driving, and trying to arrange moving into the new place, there hasn't been much time for typing on the blog. However, this will all change soon.

Saturday, we move into the new place. At least, I'm moving completely in, and Matt and Rachel will slowly trickle in over the next few weeks. I have the truck reserved, I'm lining up manpower, and getting ready to have my stuff back.

Now, I'm not as materialistic as I sound. But I miss my queen-size pillowtop bed. I've been sleeping on a fouton. I miss my books. I'm looking tremendously forward to Tora-chan being able to wander around the house, not be locked in my room. Also really looking forward to the litter box being in the laundry room, and not in MY room!

I'm also pining for real internet; Annette and Steve have dial-up. Very slow! Saturday, the internet's being connected at the house, same time as we're moving in. So, Saturday night or Sunday, I'll be able to hook my lonely, lonely computer up to the web, and go surfing. Download my blasted mail. Update the blog, telling you all how sore I am. :) And checking in with WoW. Can't wait.

So, I hope to start updating this more regularly when I can check email more easily from home.

Please, all send good wishes for the move. You know how much I love moving! This time should be easier, 'cuz almost everything is already packed. The only stuff not is the little bit I had at Annette's, and that won't take long to throw in suitcases or plastic bags!

See you all soon, on the blog!