Aftermath of the Interview...
Actually, the interview went REALLY well. I'm very excited, 'though I'm trying to maintain my composure. I should know by the end of the week, 'though I'll have to interview with the HR person of the company. The guy I talked to today is an intermediary. Very nice intermediary, who spent time in Minnesota. So we talked about how different people are in Minnesota than in other places. Kinda funny.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Okay, so on to the crappy weekend. Friday night, I got home from work, which was incredibly boring, to find the house was VERY cold. Turns out, we were out of propane. Called the emergency number, and waited. And waited. Went to bed that night, grateful for all my blankets. Slept pretty well, nice and warm. Getting up Saturday was another matter. House was 43 degrees when I got up. Finally got a call about the propane. Damion had told me that it would probably be about $200. No. When the guy got here, it was a 200 gallon minimum, as well as a $100 service charge.
So, $452.49 later, I had to take money out of my "moving" fund, to pay for the propane. The house slowly heated up. I did get to take a hot shower, which was nice. Got up early on Sunday, because I'd slept 13.5 to 14 hours on Friday night. Sunday also snowed. A lot. Plowed about 14" off the driveway at about 5:40 p.m. Played a lot of Warcraft with Eero yesterday, which was fun. Then last night, Matt, who's supposed to be one of my new roommates, called to say that instead of needing 1/2 month's rent when we move in, we need a full month's rent. So instead of $825, I need $1100. Ouch. Especially after the whole propane thing.
After sleeping 2 hours last night, I worked out (I hope) the propane/rent thing, so I was feeling a little better. Got up to leave, and got stuck in the driveway. Decided that was sign, and went back to bed. Called work, to let them know I'd be late. Got the car unstuck, put it in the garage. Found out about the job interview, and left for that. On the way, Matt called, to tell me we might not be able to get the house. Turns out, in his reading of the lease, they have several illegal clauses regarding eviction and lock-outs. They also mention they won't maintain the washer and dryer, but there's no mention of what they will maintain. Their assertion is that they'll fix anything if we call them. I suggested some options to Matt, but we'll see.
So, all in all, it's been a crappy last few days. At least I'd already bought my plane tickets home for Christmas, so I don't have to worry about that. Blah.
Please, keep your fingers crossed for this job. It'd be a heck of a lot more money, and it sounds like fun.
1 Comments:
*LUCK!*
Just an fyi...I didn't want to email you at work about this because it felt weird. LOL Anyway, Scott approached me like last week and asked how you were doing out there. (I used my stock answer and was like, She DOES have email, you know. LOL) Anyway he said that you'd emailed him, but didn't say anything else. Typical Scott. So today as I'm leaving he's like, "Does she like ADP or is she having a problem w/ the office?"
So just a heads up: he's going to talk to Terry and see about having you remote in from Denver. He said he's met Amy (your supe?) and she's a bit "rough." (that's a direct quote!) So yeah...
anyway HUGS (: and more luck (:
Post a Comment
<< Home