Wednesday, September 01, 2004

Blah, It's Wednesday

Thank God, I've made it to the weekly half-point. Wasn't sure.

The drive home yesterday was a nightmare. I left work at 5pm, and just after the spot I can turn off I-70 to take an alternate route, traffic stopped. Inching forward. Took me an hour to travel the distance it takes me 15 minutes to go on a good traffic day. Creep forward, and stop. Wait. Roll another few inches forward, stop. My clutch leg was getting tired, and I was cranky. Nothing on the radio, nothing on the Traffic Warning signs. Nada.

Then, suddenly, out of nowhere, there's a flatbed towtruck, parked across the left two lanes of traffic. I, of course, was in the far left lane. Still no word what in the name of all that's holy is going on. Merge over 2 lanes, and discover there's a cop, with an extendable light bar, blocking westbound I-70. Completely. Do you have any idea how eery it is, to see a 4-lane interstate highway, at rush hour, in a major metro area, with absolutely no vehicles on it? They routed everyone off to I-25. Most people stayed in the lanes to merge back onto I-70. Thankfully, I chose to take I-25 North, to I-76 West, which dumped me back onto I-70. There was still no one on I-70, only those of us who'd been on I-76. Very disturbing.

Stopped at Barnes and Noble, because by that point, I needed to be off the road for a little while. Kim, I got the Holly Lisle books, so no worries. As I was getting in the car, Mom called, to tell me the reason for the stoppage (I also found out more from the news later). There was a 30-year old woman, driving a Suburban. She had 4 small children in the car. By witness reports, she was driving erratically, weaving in and out of traffic, while speeding. She clipped a tow truck, and rolled the Suburban. An infant and two children were injured, as was she. A toddler was killed. That's why traffic was so bad, and that's why I-70 was closed.

I made it up to Evergreen finally. Stopped at Burger King for dinner, because I was starving. Wait was long. *shrug* It happens. Then hit Wal-mart to get buttons for the sweater for Kassie's baby, who's still a few months out. Also got a lightbulb for over my computer, and Mountain Dew for Eero, 'though I realized only after I was leaving the store, that I bought 18 mini 8-0z cans. That should be enough to last him the first day... :)

Headed for home, finally. It was about 7:30 at that point. Hit downtown Evergreen, and once again, traffic stopped. At that point, I would have willingly pulled the car to the side of the road and slept there. Turns out, the city of Evergreen, in their infinite wisdom, decided to paint the lines on the road at 7:30 at night. So we all stopped, and inched, and stopped, and inched. It was 8:04 when I pulled into the garage.

So here I am, back at work, hating my job. Eero and Brt will be here tomorrow evening. I have overtime, so hopefully I'll be able to leave a little early on Friday. Wish I could just take the day off, but it's not gonna happen. Ah well.

If I can survive today, only two more days to the weekend!

2 Comments:

At September 1, 2004 at 9:56 PM, Blogger ombren said...

I had to pause and LOL at that Mountain Dew comment...and share it w/ Eero, who was playing CS at the time. Too good. LOL

He's got your pullover and the Rachel Caine books, which I devoured. So tasty. (; Hey, I'll send you my cheesy romance if you send me yours. LOL

 
At September 2, 2004 at 8:39 AM, Blogger Serena said...

It's a deal! :) T'anks for finding the pullover, it's MUCH appreciated! The thought of my pullover makes me giddy. ;) Simple pleasures, and all that!

Looking forward to the Rachel Caine books, and I'll get the cheesy romances together, so Eero can bring them back. Hope they don't search his luggage, I'm not sure he'd survive the embarassment... :)

 

Post a Comment

<< Home